Here Are The 14 Reps Who Voted Against A House Resolution Condemning Iran’s Attack On Israel

 On Thursday, a band of more than a dozen House lawmakers voted against a resolution condemning Iran for its drone and missile attack on Israel over the weekend.

The measure passed with overwhelming support — by a 404-14 tally — while 13 lawmakers did not vote. Among those who opposed the resolution were 13 Democrats, including members of the leftist “Squad,” and one Republican. They included: Reps. Jamaal Bowman (D-NY), Cori Bush (D-MO), Greg Casar (D-TX), Jonathan Jackson (D-IL), Pramila Jayapal (D-WA), Hank Johnson (D-GA), Barbara Lee (D-CA), Summer Lee (D-PA), Rashida Tlaib (D-MI), Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez (D-NY), Ilhan Omar (D-MN), Ayanna Pressley (D-MA), Delia Ramirez (D-IL), and Thomas Massie (R-KY).

Ocasio-Cortez released a statement on Tuesday condemning a series of resolutions that House Republicans planned to consider in response to Iran’s attack on Israel that followed Israel allegedly killing Iranian generals with a strike in Syria.

“Following last weekend’s unprecedented response by Iran to Israel’s attack on its consulate, the Republican Majority is explicitly leveraging a series of bills to further escalate tensions in the Middle East. This is a blatant attempt to distract from their own incompetence,” Ocasio-Cortez said.

“The country and the world need real leadership from the House of Representatives in this moment, not resolutions designed purposefully to increase the likelihood of a deadly regional war or worse,” she added. “I will oppose any cynical effort to further inflame tensions, destroy a path to peace in the region, and further divide the American people.”

Massie appeared to also express concerns about the prospect of escalation in the Middle East. After Iran launched its barrage against Israel, which the United States and other countries helped fend off, he posted to X, “I’m against the next war already.”

Beyond condemning Iran’s attack on Israel, the resolution that passed on Thursday also says the House stands with Israel as it defends itself against Iran’s attacks and reaffirms the United States’ commitment to Israel’s security; supports Israel’s “right to self-defense” and “right to respond to this aggression”; commends the U.S. military, the United Kingdom, France, and Jordan for intercepting Iranian missiles and drones; and urges full enforcement of U.S. sanctions and export controls against Iran.

Reps. Tom Kean (R-NJ) and Jared Moskowitz (D-FL), both members of the House Foreign Affairs Committee, introduced the resolution together in a show of bipartisanship.


“Today, the House passed my resolution, Condemning Iran’s unprecedented drone and missile attack on Israel,” Kean said in a post to X.  “This resolution clearly and concisely condemns Iran’s attack, reaffirms Israel’s right to self defense, and states that Congress stands with Israel.”

The House passed a number of measures this week regarding Iran and Israel, including sanctions and a resolution condemning the “From the river to the sea, Palestine will be free” slogan as anti-Semitic, in votes where Massie similarly joined with a minority of Democrats who opposed them.

Lawmakers in the House are now considering foreign assistance legislation, including a roughly $26 billion bill for Israel and humanitarian aid, with final votes expected to happen over the weekend.

Here Are The 14 Reps Who Voted Against A House Resolution Condemning Iran’s Attack On Israel Here Are The 14 Reps Who Voted Against A House Resolution Condemning Iran’s Attack On Israel Reviewed by Your Destination on April 19, 2024 Rating: 5

No comments